Humble

gallery-1490964733-kendrick-1.gif

So I know all of you have been seeing or hearing about the track Kendrick Lamar has blessed us with. giphy.gif

Reaction of BBF members on the song, Humble :

Okay I was waiting for this lol… I actually liked the song and didn’t think that Kendrick was in anyway trying to sexualize black women. I honestly think he was honest with the music industry and its followers. Yes there is a sexualization of black women specially in rap/hiphop music, but what he does here is mention that he wants to see black women be themselves…”tired of photoshop….something natural like ass with some stretch marks” He expresses that he’s tired of seeing the same “perfect woman” and rather women embrace what is seen as their flaws. An affirmation of black beauty.

I agree with everything you have said . I woke up this morning and actually saw a post on how feminist were bashing the song, but I’m like come on lets be realistic feminism is really for white women only . Because the post mention how many feminist were bashing this black man appreciating black women for who they are , but where was those feminist when there was a great uproar on all these black girls missing . I woke up this morning and actually saw a post on how feminist were bashing the song, but I’m like come on lets be realistic feminism is really for white women only . Because the post mention how many feminist were bashing this black man appreciating black women for who they are , but where was those feminist when there was a great uproar on all these black girls missing.

I really like the song actually and I am all for him serving black Godly figures lol. I also saw the critique that ppl were giving him about his comment about being tired of plastic women and photoshop. I just feel like with some ppl you can never win because they criticize ppl for having the “perfect” video vixen in their video and then they’re criticizing him for having natural women in his video as well. It’s literally like no winning. I saw some comments saying that he didn’t represent the black woman well because there weren’t dark skinned women with 4C hair in the video. I wasn’t at all offended because Kendrick is someone who definitely has had those types of black women in his videos. I’m just proud of him & it was a crazzzy artistic video.

I like the song too especially because it’s called be humble; the first thing i said to myself was “finally a song with a catchy phrase that isn’t something like “if you ain’t got no haters you ain’t poppin” we could all be a little more humble. I wasn’t offended about his comment about plastic women and wanting to see real hair and stretch marks because it’s real. Unfortunately our young girls goals are to look like reality tv stars and celebs.

music-video.gif

Okay so lets get to this, I know everyone is talking about the lyrics on women being natural and embracing themselves, but can we talk about the real message being hidden the message ya’ll getting. As human beings, we tend to think to highly of otherselves and don’t know how to humble ourselves. The message behind this song is just to love yourself as one and not be extra you know Be Humble.

Comment your thoughts on the song below !!!

Leave a Reply

