Curly, Kinky, Straight…

Let’s talk about hair ya’ll because it is so important if we are being honest with ourselves! I was looking at myself in the mirror the other day and stared at the kinky strands of hair on my head. You KNOW that you do it too! You stare at it until you find something wrong about it OR until you smile with satisfaction.200_s

Many assumptions are made about someone when it comes to the state of their hair. I’ve been asked many times…“Is that ALL yours?” UH yes..it’s all mine (rolls eyes). The way my hair looks on a weekly basis gets a different response each and every time. And the people that respond are different also.

curly-kinky-natural-straight-favim-com-2523839

So I would blow my hair out and then straighten it, mind you my hair is natural and people would be like “Wow your hair is actually long” or “How do you get it so straight?” Most of the time I just want to hit them..real quick, but I understand that the history of my hair is one that remains a mystery to people that aren’t of color.

When I am fresh out of the shower and my hair is wet and kinky, my friends (of color) respond with compliments, love and appreciation for my hair. This is the opposite for people that aren’t used to natural hair. They ask questions about my process to getting my hair the way it is, when all it required was WATER. This question makes me feel like natural beauty is something that is not expected of someone of color. Like their has to be a reason for my hair to be beautiful….that I couldn’t do it on my own.

200_s1

 In all honesty I could be upset or I could take the questions as a form of an advantage. What I do in reality is inform people of my heritage…where I come from..that this is MY HAIR (sometimes ) even if it’s not! The fact of the matter is people ask questions or come of as ignorant because they don’t know any better.If you love your hair as much as I do..Just let ’em know. YOU and your Heritage POPPIN’.

Entry: Akeda

One thought on “Curly, Kinky, Straight…

Leave a Reply

